LIVE BLOG: The Headies 2016

Posted on December 22 2016 , at 09:50 pm
Read more
The Headies 2016
The Headies 2016

Welcome to the live blog of the Headies 2016, Nigeria’s biggest and most prestigious music awards.

Stay locked here for the latest updates from the awards show

Just click refresh

This is the 11th edition of the Headies and it will be hosted by the Falz and Adesua Etomi

The show is about to kick off

It is kicking off with some dance performances

An artist just live painted the Headies logo on stage. Impressive stuff.

Falz is now on stage dressed in a sequinned jacket with his co-host Adesua Etomi trying to serenade him with his collaboration with Simi ‘Chemistry’.

Now its a ‘Soft Work’ sing off.

I guess it is really their work

Falz just said ‘wawu’ live on stage. SMH

A video is showing on four screens of the roadmap to the Headies 2016

To present the first award for Best Street Hop Artiste of the Year is Sunny Neji and Helen Paul

And the winner is

Olamide – Who You Epp

Zakky Adzee is up to present the award for Best Reggae/Dancehall Single

Zakky is taking his time announcing it. Sigh


Now presenting the award for Best Alternative Song is Toni Tones and Osagie Alonge

Bez wins it for ‘You Suppose Know’

Performing on stage are the group Remedies, Tony Tetuila, Edris Abdulkareem and Eddy Remedy. Their song is Sade

Now they are performing ‘Keep on Rocking’

The Remedies were a pioneering hip hop group from the late 90s to the 00s before they broke up.

Daddy Showkey is up on stage and he has everyone on the feet and dancing. I mean everyone.

*currently doing the galala*

Now it’s Jazzman Olofin

All you 90s babies won’t of course know who he is but he was a bonafide star not too long ago.

He is now joined by Adewale Ayuba, fuji superstar

JJC Skillz and Stella Monye are up to present the award for Best Vocal Performance(Male)

And the winner is Shaydee for ‘Smile’.

Lara George is up to present the award for Best Vocal Performance(Female)

Simi is the winner for ‘Love Don’t Care’

Aramide is on stage to perform ‘Funmi Lowo’

Surprise surprise. She is joined by Ras Kimono.

Presenting the award for the Best Pop Single is Adunni Ade and Uti Nwachukwu

And the winner is Reggae Blues by Harrysong

Presenting the award for Best R&B Single is Sarah Ofili and DJ Obi

Darey wins it for ‘Pray For Me’

Presenting the award for Producer of the Year are Mai Atafo and Adedoja-Allen

The winner is Young John

Presenting the award for Best Music Video is Lillian Esoro and Lynxxx

The award goes to Clarence Peters for ‘Soldier’ by Falz and Simi

Harrysong and KCee are presenting the award for Recording of the Year

Darey wins again for ‘Pray For Me’

Humblesmith is about to perform ‘Osinachi’. Once the drums stop.

Humblesmith is finally performing and wearing the brightest red socks while doing so.

Presenting the award for the Lyricist on the Roll is Eva Alodiah and Yaw

The winner is Ill Bliss!!!!!

The Headies is remembering those in the entertainment industry that left us too son with a tribute video. OJB Jezreel, Nomoreloss and Chris Jeyibo.

2face Idibia is singing OJB’s ‘Searching’ on stage in tribute to the late colleague

The Headies is inducting veteran music producer, Laolu Akins into the Headies Hall of Fame.

Comedian Ali Baba is doing the honours of presenting the award to him

Ubi Franklin and Toke Makinwa are presenting the award for Best Rap Single

The award goes to Olamide for ‘Eyan Mayweather’

Soundsultan and Hush Baby are presenting the award for Best Rap Album

The winner is Ill Bliss for Powerful

Presenting the award for Best R&B/Pop Album are Gbenro and Osas Ajibade

The winner is Kiss Daniel for New Era

Seyi Shay is up performing

Presenting the award for Hip Hop World Revelation is 2face Idibia

The winner is Kiss Daniel for New Era

Presenting the award for Best Collaboration are Funke Akindele and Omotunde Adebowale.

The winner is Falz and Simi for ‘Soldier’

Darey Art-Alade and Lami Phillips are presenting the award for Song of the Year

‘Fada Fada’ by Phyno and Olamide wins it!!!!

Presenting the award for the much anticipated Next Rated award is AY Makun and Jibril Arogundade of SmartCard Nigeria

The roar you hear is that of Wizkid entering the hall. Yes, the same Wizkid. Yup.

The winner is Mr Eazi!!!!!!!!!!

Presenting the award for the Album of the Year is Bovi

Kiss Daniel wins again

Jude Okoye is presenting the award for Artiste of the Year

Wizkid. Of course.

To present the Special Recognition Award is Mike Dada of AFRIMMA and Kenny Ogungbe

The award goes to Flavour Nabania

Falz and Adesua Etomi are shamelessly riffling off Bobrisky on stage. Several SMHs.

Flavour is back on stage to wrap up the awards show with his own performance

And with that, we bid you a good farewell

Hope you all had fun

Ⓒ Copyright NET News Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Please use sharing tools. Do not cut, copy or lift any content from this website without our consent.

More related posts