Mayorkun, Terry Apala or Dice Ailes: Who will win the Headies 2016 Rookie of the Year award?

Posted on December 19 2016 , at 06:49 pm
Read more
Story highlights
  • The first ever Rookie of the Year competition was won in 2012 by Dammy Krane and Burna Boy.

Dremo and Mayorkun
Dremo and Mayorkun nominated for 2016 Headies Rookie of the Year.

Organisers of The Headies have announced nominees for 2016 Rookie of the Year.


Artistes nominated are Chocolate City’s Dice Ailes, Terry Apala, Davido’s acts – Dremo and Mayorkun, and Capital Hills’ signee, Mz. Kiss who is the only female on the list.

The artistes nominated for the award must not have a major record or prior music accomplishments, and the lucky winner – via popular votes – gets rewarded with the opportunity to perform on The Headies stage.

The first ever Rookie of the Year competition was won by Dammy Krane and Burna Boy after both artistes tied in the votes to pick a winner in 2012.

Other winners include Ink Edwards in 2013, Reekado Banks in 2014 and YCee who won the category in 2015.

The Headies 2016 holds at the Eko Convention Center on Thursday, December 22, hosted by Falz and Adesua Etomi. Red Carpet kicks off at 7:00p.m. and gate closes at 8:45p.m. as the event starts by 9:00p.m.

Tickets are available on NETShop.

Ⓒ Copyright NET News Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Please use sharing tools. Do not cut, copy or lift any content from this website without our consent.

More related posts