Patience Jonathan becomes Permanent Secretary in Bayelsa State

Posted on July 12 2012 , at 09:24 am
Read more

By Olamide Jasanya

Governor of Bayelsa State, Seriake Dickson has appointed First lady, Dame Patience Jonathan as a Permanent Secretary.

The appointment which was announced on Wednesday, July 11, 2012, in a statement from the office of the Head of service, Mrs Gloria Izonfo, confirmed the wife of the president as a Permanent Secretary along with 17 other civil servants .

‘By the constitutional power conferred on the state governor, Hon. Seriake Dickson, in section 203 sub-section 2c, Dame Patience Jonathan and seventeen others have been elevated to the position of Permanent Secretary in the state civil service,’ Izonfo said.

The other permanent secretaries include J.E. Oye, Samson Ayibeboa, Antonia Koroye, Ziwari Billie, Buruboyefa John, Dikuro Ayebameh, Serge Williams, Olu Kuruom, G.I.Izein, Philomena Alodie, Omietimi Kojo, Ese Izonebi, Ohougha Maythias, James Clinton, Linnet Tebepah, Moses Teibowei, Dr. A. Sanayi and Vivian Odiwei.

Jonathan, who holds a National Certificate in Education (NCE) in Mathematics/Biology from the Rivers State College of Education and a Bachelor in Biology and Psychology from Uniport, has worked in different sectors including Teaching, banking Sports administration and Civil service prior to her husband’s appointment as Deputy Governor of Bayelsa State in 1999.

What do you think of the first lady’s appointment?

Ⓒ Copyright NET News Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Please use sharing tools. Do not cut, copy or lift any content from this website without our consent.

Comments (29)

  • Is it possiple to appoint first lade of country as a permanent secretary of the state.

  • Is it possible to appoint the first lady of the country as permanent secretary of the state.

  • Nig. Hw wil gov.dickson do dat? When we hav ppl out here looking for appointment is just lik keeping stone ontop of d mountine, she is d first lady y dat again?

  • What a country without shepherd! Where a blind person is leading the intellect. I am very optimistic that we shall be delivered out this mess come rain, come sun.

  • The governor want favours from presidency nd decided to go through d first lady. We’re being made to believe that d first lady has been attendin work from presidential villa or that the governor has appointed a ghost worker perminent secretary. 4get them.

  • If she is due for promotion so be it. There is no big deal. After all she is a civil servant. And more over, there is no provision for ist lady in our constitution. But let her relocate to Bayelsa to pick up the appointment. She cant operate from Abuja.

  • nawa ooo, instead for them to give d position to someone who really needs it…. well, cant blame them bcos in nigeria we collect from d needy and give to d greedy.

  • JOHN you have spoken my mind.
    she is a civil servant and has grown throw the ranks. also, FIRST LADY is not a post or appointment

  • Since jonathan became VP,Has she worked? We want to curb corruption only on d pages of newspapers. This is wat we get from clueless people foisted on us as leaders.*SMH*

  • Someone pls tell me wetin dis Permanent Secretary go write in the Minutes of the last meeting of Bayesal state…………..shame!!!!!!!!

  • Na wa notng wey no dey happen 4 dis our country anyway i no blame them na Poverty dey make she and d husband dey chop our money anyhow just pray God will flush all the bad people in power so that Nigeria can be whole again.

  • we are yet to reach d promiseland, those in authority are nt our actual or eventual representatives they only misrepresent themselves.

  • naija government na authoritarian nt democracy at all.wen dem dey fetch Water frm well 2 sea .na wa o

  • Its however sad that this should be happening especially in d country were der is serious unemployment 4 d qualified n over qualified. Um..m when are we goin 2 practise matured government?

  • This s ridiculous…atleast it sounds so…should she be working? Even sounds like a demotion..she should have done that before becoming a ist lady….it doesn’t sound befitting and it shouldn’t feel so….speechless..cnt blive it

  • Congrat dame,atlast u finally got a befitting job 4 urself.u’r not worth to be nigeria 1st lady,pk ur loads n return bk to bayelsa n let another worthd 1st lady resumed office. Abi, u no urself that is not possible 4 u n ur coward husband to kill 2 bird wt a stone. Gani junior’s word wil soon manifest in d life of ur oga. Ok.

  • This is absolutely nonsense. Another person should be given this post. What a government we have! 2go @iamsammy tweet @iamdsam

  • This is absolutely nonsense. Another person should have been given this post. What a government we have! 2go @iamsammy tweet @iamdsam

  • Na wa nijaal people u don come again oooo,u go Olori of Oba 4rm her palace,u come put am 4 bank make she come pack d remain money wey u people dey manage……….un un unnnn nijal u don start again. Some people dey outside ……….2 eat na wahala,some are not well,2 go 4 treatment no money.NIJAAL 1.MAKE UNA CHANGE. 2.MAKE UNA REMEMBER SAY ONE DAY EVERYBODY WILL DIE.Ask urself where u wan go after.

  • sinimatography, God go helep us in this country ooo. abi seriake no know say for the past 15 years employment never dey for bayelsa graduate? anyway sa, i no blame them bcos sea lack water so let them fetch from the creek to feel up the sea. na wa, make God not god help us in Jesus name amin, amin

  • All i no nd i truely no dat i no… father is coming no one can escape dat day, note dat our money cant buy us a place in heaven. Me myslf am not rich nd my family is not rich! But am still cry evry hour 4 those who cant aford thre daily bread nw look at wht is happenin 2 our country when we hav poverty all over d country. Wht is d need of gathern all dis wealth witout God fearn? U may said u want 2 make name or stockn it 4ur children children, but in my own view its vanity….take a look at wht is happenin in dis country, note dat his comin is near. God who put us in a post has d reason y he did so! Let us reason nd come close 2 God 2 hear wht he is sayn…..if i hav a job of 50k in dat 50k Gods own is 10k my family and i has 25k my future has 5k people who is in need has 10k with favour i wil achieve it is obvious dat wil aquire wealth all alone nd end up in hell it is a pity 2us. GOD IS ALIVE ND HE IS WATCHN OVER US.

  • congratulation Dear mother ur indeed a mother of our dear country nigeria, permit me mother as a child speaks 2 his mother….ma i plead 2u dat u shoul use dis post to reach those dat in need, always b vry close 2 God anytime anywhre. We ‘re all human so it doesnt matter wht peo said jus try ur best do the wil of God. My God bless u ma as u obey dis word tank u.

Comments are closed.